Home > CHL Classes

CHL Classes

Strong Point Tactical offers a more private approach to CHL Courses. We understand that you may not feel comfortable attending a class with people you donít know.  We offer a small classroom environment up to 3 students at a time, Individual instruction, or groups of family and friends that want to get their CHL together.

We do not consider ourselves to be your ordinary CHL classes you find in the area. We take a good portion of what would be traditionally classroom time and we transfer it to practical application at the range. We find that this helps the student in the event they are faced with a with a real world threat.

Obtaining a Concealed Handgun License for the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 4 hour maximum 6 hour certification outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Prior to your CHL qualification we focus on:


         Weapons Safety and Employment of your weapons system

         Practical shooting scenarios

         Responsible use of Lethal Force and Texas Regulations

         Non-Violent Dispute Resolution

         Situational Awareness

All these topics are covered by means of Range time, Power Point Presentation with videos and demonstrations.

You will need to bring the following:

         Handgun- At least .32 Caliber (Semi-Automatic or Revolver). All Handguns must be in good working condition.

         Ammunition- A minimum of 250 rounds, SAAMI approved factory loads. (No reloads allowed on range). Recommended ammunition: Hornady, Winchester, Federal, Remington, PMC, Fiocchi, Accurate/Ultra Max, 4W, Blackhills and CCI.

         Eye Protection

         Ear Protection

         Long Pants- (No Shorts)

         Closed toed shoes  and socks- (absolutely no sandals)

         Baseball cap is recommended but not required

         T-shirts or full collared shirts are recommended- (No tank tops)


         At least 3 Magazines for your handgun

         Magazine Pouches to accommodate your magazines during the course recommended

         Notebook, pen or pencil

         Sun block and Mosquito Repellant depending on the season recommended

         Knee pads recommended but not required

You can bring your weapon into the classroom as long as you have it holstered. ALL WEAPONS WILL BE CLEARED BY AN INSTRUCTOR PRIOR TO ENTERING THE CLASSROOM.

 All Ammunition must be left in your vehicles while in the classroom NO EXEPTIONS.

All handling of ammunition will be done only at the range with the supervision of an instructor.

        Course fee New CHLís for groups: $150.00 each(4-6 Hours)

        Course fee New CHLís for Individual Instruction: $225.00 (4-6 Hours)



Additional Fee: $ 20.00 for the range you pay same day of class.

Payment for the course must be paid in advance and a tentative date will be established for the purposes of securing the range that day. We will confirm date 72 hours prior.

We can also go to your location provided that you have the property available, and that your local county regulations allow. You can take the course from the privacy of your own location.  Please E-mail for pricing and additional information.




To be eligible for a Texas Concealed Handgun License, you:

    Must be a legal resident of Texas, or apply for a non-resident license

    Must be at least 21-years old Ė Exception: active duty military or honorable discharge, then age 18 or older

    Must not have been convicted of a felony

    Must not be currently charged with a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, a felony or a disorderly conduct offense

    Must not be a fugitive from justice

    Must not be chemically dependent (including alcohol)

    Must be capable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun

    Must not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or a disorderly conduct charge in the past five years

    Must be fully qualified under federal and state laws to purchase a handgun

    Must not be delinquent in any tax payments to the State of Texas (any agencies or subdivisions), including child support and/or property and sales taxes

    Must not be restricted by a protective or restraining order involving a person

    Must not have been prosecuted for a felony grade juvenile delinquent conduct in the previous ten years

    Must not have made any material misrepresentations, or failed to disclose any material fact on the CHL application

For questions regarding your eligibility, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety Concealed Handgun Unit at: [email protected]